Saturday, August 8, 2009

Vampire Academy Series - Richelle Mead

Synopsis of Vampire Academy (Book 1)

"St. Vladimir's Academy isn't just any boarding school—it's a hidden place where vampires are educated in the ways of magic and half-human teens train to protect them. Rose Hathaway is a Dhampir, a bodyguard for her best friend Lissa, a Moroi Vampire Princess. They've been on the run, but now they're being dragged back to St. Vladimir's—the very place where they're most in danger. . . .
Rose and Lissa become enmeshed in forbidden romance, the Academy's ruthless social scene, and unspeakable nighttime rituals. But they must be careful lest the Strigoi—the world's fiercest and most dangerous vampires—make Lissa one of them forever."

Jenn: I stumbled across these books pretty much by accident. I was intrigued by the back description and figured, why not? So I started reading and quickly became engrossed. The main character - Rose - is well developed and described (as were the all the other characters), and it was very easy to imagine her as I read. The books are written in first person persective so although Rose is a very individual character, I definitely felt like I was inside her head and feeling everything right along with her. She's funny and sarcastic and full of spunk, but still feels vulnerable and a little insecure, which made her feel very real. The stories in each book have a slight mystery feel to them, you don't really know what's going on so you try to figure it out right along with Rose. It's a little frustrating for me, but only because I hate not knowing what's going on, lol! There's a fair amount of "adult" language, and lots of sexual tension and some sex - but nothing explicit. The action scenes are well written without being overdone or hard to understand. I had a few "What?!" moments, and a few moments that made me cry, but overall, an extremely good series. I'm very excited for the next book.

*This series will have 6 books total - the first 4 books are available now, with the 5th slated to come out May 18, 2010.
**The author has mentioned that there may be possible spin-off series from other characters' POV's in the future.

No comments:

Post a Comment